Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

AACR Honors Congressional Champions with Distinguished Service Awards

September 12, 2012. The AACR recognized four Members of Congress for their commitment to cancer and biomedical research at a reception on Capitol Hill. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) and Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL) received the 2012 AACR Distinguished Public Service Award for their outstanding leadership and support for cancer research, biomedical science and other issues of importance to the cancer community.  The three lawmakers provided remarks which emphasized the value of cancer research and biomedical science and highlighted their concerted efforts to continue prioritizing funding for the NIH and NCI. 
In addition to celebrating Brown, Lee and Shelby, AACR leaders presented Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA) with the AACR Award for Distinguished Service and Global Impact in Cancer and Biomedical Research.  This award, one of the highest the AACR presents to a non-scientist, recognizes Harkin for his outstanding leadership, unwavering support and his significant, sustained contributions to cancer and biomedical research throughout his many years in the U.S. Senate, particularly in his role as Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee, which funds the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

​The policymakers were chosen by the AACR Science Policy and Legislative Affairs Committee, a distinguished panel of scientists who serve as the AACR’s principal means for devising and implementing strategies to influence important biomedical research-related public policy issues. In addition to honoring the deserving Members of Congress, the reception also served as an opportunity to further celebrate the launch of the AACR Cancer Progress Report 2012 and the cancer survivors and their loved ones who shared their stories in the report. 

Congressional Champions Reception Photos